what are the mcdonalds achievement levels ?

The McDonalds achievement levels are a list of performance goals for events that athletes participate in.  The McDonald's achievement levels are calculated from the averages of performances attained by Little Athletics Queensland athletes over the years. A regular review of the levels is conducted at least every three years.


Anyone achieving a Green level, which is within the reach of 100% of children with a little application, has achieved a good level of performance. A Red level represents a very good performance, but still achievable by about 65% of children. A Blue level represents an excellent performance achievable by about 20% of Little Athletes. Levels for each age group and all events are detailed on the pink (Girls) or blue (Boys) Achievement Cards.

The goals are broken into 4 levels, allowing athletes to continue to set achievement goals throughout the season:


  • GREEN : Achievable by most athletes with application

  • RED : Very good performance achieved by approximately 65% of athletes

  • BLUE : Excellent performance achieved by approximately 20% of athletes

  • GOLD : Based on performance mark halfway between the BLUE level and the Australian Best performance for an event.  This level is not awarded a certificate but is used to provide further goals once a BLUE level is achieved.

where can i see the levels

Levels for each age group can be found in the following documents :

Girls Award Levels (Updated March 2019)

Boys Award Levels (Updated March 2019)

GOLD Levels

Multi Class

how it works ?

To receive a McDonald's Achievement Award Certificate, an athlete must reach the relevant level in all events applicable to their age group in three event groups.


For example an U13 athlete would be awarded a Green level certificate if they were to equal or better the Green level times and distances in:

(1) Hurdles: 60m Hurdles and 200m Hurdles,

(2) Sprints: 70m, 100m, and 200m and in

(3) Throws: Discus, Javelin and Shot Put.

(4) Jumps: High, Long, Triple

Any event group combination can be used to meet the criteria, as long as the levels in three event groups are attained. Age groups have a varied requirement for the number of Event Groups to achieve an award; these are; two (2) groups for U6's; two (2) for U7's; three (3) groups for U8's and three (3) groups for U9-U17's.

At the end of the season, athletes are provided a best performance certificate including the final level of achievement.